company logo

Help center

Go to GroupApp
All collectionsSegmentsWhat are Segments and How to Use Them

What are Segments and How to Use Them

Learn what Segments are and how to use them to group members and control access inside your community.

Segments act as custom access groups that let you organize members and control what they can access inside your community.

You can use Segments to manage access to specific channels, courses, Content Library items, and events. This is especially useful for cohort-based programs, coaching groups, or tiered access setups. Segments are currently available on the Scale and Organization plans.

How to Create Segments

Step 1: Click on the Admin Panel button.


Step 2: Click on People in the side menu.


Step 3: Go to the Segments tab.


Step 4: Click the Add Segment button.


Step 5: Enter the Segment name and Description, and click the Create button.

How to Manually Add Members to a Segment

Step 1: Click the three-dot icon of the segment you want to add members to, and select Add Members from the options.


Step 2: Search for or tick the checkbox of the members you want to add, and click the Add button.

How to use segments:

1. Add members from subscriptions to segments.

You can do this automatically by turning on Add Subscriber to Segments in the Edit Subscription Settings section and selecting the segment(s) you want for the subscription plan.

2. Use segments to create a custom access level.

Control member access to your resources by grouping them into segments. The following resources support segment-based access:

  • Channels

  • Courses

  • Library content

  • Events

To apply this, edit the settings of the specific resource, go to the Access Level section, select the By Segments option, then search for and select the relevant segment or segments.

3. Use Segments to restrict or give access to content and resources in your community.

When a resource’s access level is set to By Segment, you can further restrict visibility by setting the Visibility setting to Hidden. In this case, only members who belong to the selected segment will be able to see the resource.

Important: A channel, course, event, or Library resource can be accessible through multiple segments. If a member is removed from one of those segments, either manually or through a workflow, they may still retain access if they belong to another segment that also provides access to the same resource.

Learn more about Segments:

How to configure segments for channels

Learn How to configure segments for channels

How to Add or Remove Members from Segments

Learn how to add or remove members from segments

Did this answer your question?
😞
😐
😁